Home The Bois Blanc Island Site
An interactive site for islanders and island lovers

Home  ::  Forum  ::  Album  ::   Calendar  ::  Memberlist  ::  Usergroups  ::  Register 
 Profile  :: FAQ  ::  Search  ::  Log in to check your private messages  ::  Log in 

Who was the first store owner?
Goto page 1, 2, 3  Next

Post new topic   Reply to topic    The Bois Blanc Island Site Forum Index -> Island History
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Kevin Gibbons
Resident Royalty
Resident Royalty

PostPosted: Fri Jan 25, 2008 9:53 am    Post subject: Who was the first store owner? Reply with quote

Who was the first store Owner and where was the store located?
Dan Reynolds
$$ Site Donor $$
$$ Site Donor $$

PostPosted: Fri Jan 25, 2008 10:25 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

This is becoming a great game of Island Trivial Pursuit. I like it! There's so much for me to learn. As a writer, I always wanted to write a book about it - a nonfictional historical account, not something designed to draw attention to BBI or create 'hype', just something to document the many recollections and photos in a comprehensive work. But I wouldn't know where to begin, and I hate the idea of bugging people with interviews and incessant questions. (I'm far better at writing than I am at talking...) So, the idea remains on the shelf, as it were. If I was going to do it, I'd want to do it as thoroughly as possible.

Somewhere, I have a copy of a "Bois Blanc Island History" document that was apparently written by a former schoolteacher on the Island. Obviously, I don't know the person and can't remember the name right now. It had a lot of interesting information - there's no way for me to verify any of it, but I suspect most of it was fairly accurate.